Waterman Lions Club

<u>The Club's Beginning</u> The organizational meeting for the Waterman Lions Club was held June 14, 1954. The first officers were: Carl Rylander, president; Russell McAllister, Kenneth Tate, and Harold Rompf, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd vice presidents, respectively; Jack Templeton, secretary; Lloyd Waldee, treasurer; Sheldon Swann, Lion tamer; and Dean Swift, tail twister. The first directors were Preston Woods, Paul Johnson, Kenneth Peterson and D. E. Stitzel.

The idea for the club started in 1953 when Carl Rylander came to Waterman to teach vocational agriculture at Waterman High School. Having been a Lions Club member in Paw Paw, Rylander started promoting a club for Waterman. The Paw Paw Lions Club sponsored the new club. Charter Night was July 29, 1954.

<u>The Park</u> In November 1958 the club bought 11 acres directly west of Waterman High School to be developed as a park. In 1960 it erected a large shelter house in the center of the park and set out trees and shrubs. In 1962 the club built restrooms and the following year they installed several pieces of playground equipment. Last payment on the land was made in 1964.

The club built an open shelter house on the west side of the park in 1965. A legal size ball diamond was installed south of the main shelter house in 1968. In 1977 the club leased a portion of the park west of the main shelter house to the Village of Waterman for the construction of two tennis courts which could be used as an ice skating rink in the winter. The lease ran for 20 years.

Each year the club maintained and improved the park. In 1987 bleachers were purchased for the ball diamond; in 1988 a water fountain and permanent outside picnic tables were installed around the shelter house; in 1989 new trees were planted. Ceiling fans were installed in the shelter house, a memorial to Carl Rylander. In 1995 the club entered into a contractual arrangement with Pete Robinson to build and operate a model railroad train that goes around the park.

Projects and Activities Over the years the club sponsored many community service projects. The first, in 1954, was buying and placing trash barrels in the business district in the village. In 1963 it conducted an oral polio vaccine clinic and donated an X-ray table and wheel chairs to the DeKalb Hospital.

The club sponsors the Lions Glaucoma Unit and the Lions Hearing Unit to screen local citizens for signt and hearing problems. The club sponsors a blood drive each year. It provides scholarship funds for Kishwaukee College for students from the former Waterman School District. The club donated \$5,000 to the Lions Eye Research Center at the University of Illinois, Chicago Campus. In 1990 the club installed equipment at the new playground at the Waterman Grade School.

These projects and donations have been funded by Lions Club moneymaking activities such as selling light bulbs, putting on Home Talent Shows, auto raffles, tractor-pulls, Sandwich Fair raffles, chicken and pork chop barbecues, Christmas tree sales, fruit sales, and pancake days.

In 1970 the club sponsored two clubs: Shabbona Lions Club and Hinckley Lions Club. The club has provided seven Lions zone chairmen: Carl Rylander, Howard Kauffman, Walter Carroll, Robert Bronson, Floyd Johnson, Wayne Stryker, and Dave Stryker. For several years Johnson was Lions Club International Foundation chairman for District 1-J and Illinois Lions Foundation chairman for District 1-J. Lion Dave Stryker was District 1J Governor for 2000-01.

<u>Dues</u> The club secretary bills each member for organizational dues and meals for the monthly dinner meetings. *Make checks payable to "Lions Club of Waterman" and send to the club secretary.*

When your spouse or guest attends a dinner meeting the cost of the meal will show on your next billing. If you bring a prospective member to a dinner meeting, the club will pick up the cost of the meal one time for that person.

Call the club secretary by the deadline listed in the dinner announcement.

Presidents

1954-55
1955-56
1956-57
1957-58
1958-59
1959-60
1960-61
1961-62
1962-moved
1962-63
1963-64
1964-65
1965-66
1966-67
1967-68
1968-69
1969-70
1970-71
1971-72
1972-73
1973-74
1974-75
1975-76

Robert Daniel	1976-77
Wayne Stryker	1977-78
Harold Johnson	1978-79
Wayne Stryker	1979-80
Dennis McElhone	1980-81
Donald Wright	1981-82
Craig Rice	1982-83
Gary Christensen	1983-84
Neil Fiekema	1984-85
Dave Stryker	1985-86
Steve Bock	1986-87
Steve Bock	1987-88
Robert Bend	1988-89
Mark Fenske	1989-90
Dave Stryker	1990-91
Kent Huff	1991-92
Steve Bock	1992-93
Brian Leifheit	1993-94
Paul Zeman	1994-95
Paul Zeman	1995-96
Jack Ryen	1996-97
Jack Ryen	1997-98
Phil Nielsen	1998-99
Phil Nielsen	1999-00
Robert Bend	2000-01
Robert Bend	2001-02
Craig Rice	2002-03
Craig Rice	2003-04
Steve Bock	2004-05
Steve Bock	2005-06
Dale Gaston	2006-07
Dale Gaston	2007-08